I am wondering what it means (technically) to share a resource into a project.
- Does a resource have a “main-project” of sorts, or are all projects of a resource equal?
- What effect does sharing have on project export? Are the resources that are shared into the project contained in the export?
- How is the project shown in the breadcrumb determined for resources that are shared to several projects?
a) Does it depend how a user navigates to the resource (going there via project A or via project B)?
b) How about accessing resources with a direct link?
Thanks for reaching us out.
Regarding the 3rd question, it depends on how user navigates to the resource. Because when user navigates to a project, the default project will get updated for him/her and it shows the default project within breadcrumb.
If user accesses the resource via direct link:
- If the resource is shared to the user’s default project, then default project will be shown.
- Otherwise, the first project that the resource is shared to (and the user has access to) will be shown.
I hope that answers your question.
Yes, thanks to both of you. I was able to resolve a support ticket just by providing some detail information about sharing to the customer.